A Little Dirt On My Boots

Disclaimer; this is not a rip off of the Jon Pardi song, or a full fledged rant on the millennial generation.

I sometimes get negative comments about being a woman pursuing a career in Large Animal Veterinary Medicine. Or the fact that I volunteer at a barn. Why would I want to strain myself, physically, mentally? Don’t I want to settle, have a husband who provides for me, children, family?

Yes and no.

I do one day, pray for all those things for myself, but not until I pursue what the Lord has called me to.

My life often isn’t pretty, but I think there are some who expect it, in the feminine sense to be. There are days when I come home with hay in my messed bun, boots caked in mud, covered in dust, drool, snot, horse hair. From there I change and beautify myself for another full shift waiting tables at the restaurant.

8 hour work days, 12 hour work days, 16 hour workdays.  Sometimes I’ll end up working over 60 hour weeks.  It’s hard, sometimes its gross, and always its exhausting.  But I wouldn’t change a darn thing. We, a generation that missed out on the beauty of working with your hands, getting a little dirty, and a cold shower at the end of the day.

See, in a very humble sense I think that sadly my generation has a sense of entitlement.  I, myself did not come from money. Or handouts. Or having a smartphone in middle school.

But my mama and dad always made sure I had everything I needed and then some.  I genuinely think one of the best gifts they could have given me is the example of working hard, (really really hard).  And I hope that one day, when I do have my own children I can be that example for them.

I am well aware of the ugly and less than glamorous hazards of large animal medicine.  Like sticking your hand up a cows rear (i’m small, so this is really a daunting prospect; hopefully I don’t get lost. Pray for me.), or leaving your house and warm comfy bed at 3 a.m. in the morning, to go to a barn in 10 degrees to check up on a horse with colic symptoms.

But I believe with all my heart, that the effort I put in now, no matter how mindless it may seem is going to reflect positively later.  “What you put in, you get out,” is something my mama always said.

In all my toil, I embrace the season of refinement.  The experience. The horsey lives I see nurtured and the time in the sun (being stuck behind books ALL the time is bad for my vitamin D intake).

I  encourage y’all, especially you millennials and younger to get a little dirt on your boots. Literally, figuratively. Work hard. Give more than you take.  You’ll thank yourself later. With enough hard work, faith and determination I promise you can do anything the Lord has set you too.

Blessings,

L.M.A.

[****P.S. THANK YOU TO MY MAMA AND DAD FOR BEING THE HARDEST WORKING PEOPLE I KNOW, AND GIVING ME CHORES AS A CHILD, EVEN WHEN I THREW A FIT ABOUT THEM. I LOVE YOU****]

Leave a Reply

